Home / Painting / San Francisco, CA
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential painting permits in San Francisco, CA

28 residential painting permits were issued in San Francisco, CA in the 8 weeks to Oct 16, 2026. Get them weekly by ZIP from Curbside Signal.

Source: San Francisco (building). Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 28 residential painting permits were issued in San Francisco, CA, according to public records from San Francisco (building). The busiest ZIP codes were 94132 (7 residential permits), 94110 (4 residential permits), 94123 (3 residential permits). The median declared value was $32,710 across 27 residential permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.

28
Residential painting permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026
$32,710
Median declared value (27 with value)
13
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 16, 2026
Latest permit date published
3.5
Permits per collected week on average
17
Days with at least one permit issued

Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. If we can't deliver your first file within 24 hours of purchase, we refund you in full.

What a painting permit means in San Francisco

A residential permit that ends in painting (an addition, a major remodel or siding work) means new surfaces that need paint soon. For a painter it marks jobs to bid on and streets where houses are being refreshed.

In San Francisco, permits were issued on 17 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 13, 2026, Sep 30, 2026, Sep 29, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 94132 (7), 94110 (4), 94123 (3).

By residential painting permit count, San Francisco ranks #8 of the 18 painting pages on this site and #1 of 3 in CA.

  • Time interior offers to the end of each remodel.
  • Mail exterior offers to neighbors of siding and stucco work.
  • Partner with the remodelers active here.

See plans for San Francisco painting leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 28 residential permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on San Francisco jobs.

  • General remodel: 22 residential permits (79%)
  • Drywall & plaster: 8 residential permits (29%)
  • Kitchen/bath remodel: 6 residential permits (21%)
  • Electrical: 4 residential permits (14%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 28Sep 4Sep 11Sep 18Sep 25Oct 2Oct 9Oct 16

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwelling1346%
OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwelling1346%
OTC alterations permit / apartments27%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
94132725%0.88
94110414%0.75
94123311%0.62
9411827%0.38
9412127%0.50

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

Work type stated in the permit

Work typePermitsShare
Interior remodel1346%
Siding621%
Stucco14%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeWork typeDeclared value
2026-10-1394112OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwellingRemodel + paintingNot stated$4,200
2026-09-2394121OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwellingElectrical + remodel + painting + flooring + drywall & plasterInterior remodel$25,000
2026-09-1794131OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwellingRemodel + garage + painting + garage doorsStuccoN/A
2026-09-1194132OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwellingRemodel + paintingNot stated$41,002
2026-09-0994117OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwellingKitchen/bath remodel + painting + drywall & plasterInterior remodel$25,000
2026-09-0294110OTC alterations permit / apartmentsHVAC + kitchen/bath remodel + gas line + painting + drywall & plasterInterior remodel$5,900

Source

  • San Francisco (building): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset i98e-djp9), published by San Francisco (building). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Painting = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal painting rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: New walls, siding and stucco all need paint, and newly painted houses make the neighbors look again at their own.

Questions

How many residential painting permits were issued in San Francisco, CA recently?

28 residential painting permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: San Francisco (building).

Which San Francisco ZIP codes have the most painting permits?

94132 (7 residential permits), 94110 (4 residential permits), 94123 (3 residential permits), by residential painting permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 13 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential painting permit in San Francisco?

$32,710, across 27 residential permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the San Francisco painting permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free 10-permit sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, delivered every Monday. Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

San Francisco painting leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free 10-permit sampleEmail hello@curbsidesignal.comSee pricing