Residential garage door permits in San Francisco, CA
33 residential garage door permits were issued in San Francisco, CA in the 8 weeks to Oct 16, 2026. Get them weekly by ZIP from Curbside Signal.
Source: San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing). Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 33 residential garage door permits were issued in San Francisco, CA, according to public records from San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing). The busiest ZIP codes were 94116 (7 residential permits), 94122 (4 residential permits), 94123 (3 residential permits). The median declared value was $15,000 across 27 residential permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.
Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.
Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. If we can't deliver your first file within 24 hours of purchase, we refund you in full.
What a garage door permit means in San Francisco
A residential garage door permit means a door is being installed or replaced now. For a garage door company it marks the job and neighbors with doors of the same age.
In San Francisco, permits were issued on 21 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 13, 2026, Oct 9, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 94116 (7), 94122 (4), 94123 (3).
By residential garage door permit count, San Francisco ranks #2 of the 3 garage door pages on this site.
- Mail the neighbors of each replacement.
- Pitch the garage builders active here.
- Offer opener service to houses with new doors.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 33 residential permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on San Francisco jobs.
- Garage: 33 residential permits (100%)
- General remodel: 31 residential permits (94%)
- Painting: 4 residential permits (12%)
- Water heater: 3 residential permits (9%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | 24 | 73% |
| OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwelling | 4 | 12% |
| Additions alterations or repairs / 1 family dwelling | 3 | 9% |
| (Type not published) | 1 | 3% |
| Additions alterations or repairs / 2 family dwelling | 1 | 3% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 94116 | 7 | 21% | 0.88 |
| 94122 | 4 | 12% | 0.50 |
| 94123 | 3 | 9% | 0.50 |
| 94127 | 3 | 9% | 0.38 |
| 94118 | 3 | 9% | 0.38 |
8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.
Work type stated in the permit
| Work type | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Replacement | 20 | 61% |
| New install | 15 | 45% |
| Opener | 2 | 6% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Work type | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-15 | 94118 | Additions alterations or repairs / 1 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + garage doors | Replacement; new install | $500,000 |
| 2026-10-05 | 94117 | OTC alterations permit / 2 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + garage doors | New install | $2,500 |
| 2026-09-24 | 94121 | OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + garage doors | Not stated | N/A |
| 2026-09-17 | 94131 | OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + painting + garage doors | New install | N/A |
| 2026-09-08 | 94112 | Additions alterations or repairs / 1 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + garage doors | Not stated | $41,200 |
| 2026-09-02 | 94114 | OTC alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | Remodel + garage + garage doors | Not stated | $15,000 |
Source
- San Francisco (building): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset i98e-djp9), published by San Francisco (building). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- San Francisco (plumbing): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset a6aw-rudh), published by San Francisco (plumbing). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Garage Doors = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal garage door rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro: every trade × city page there.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: New garages need doors and openers; door replacements lead to opener, driveway and electrical work.
Other trades in San Francisco, CA
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
Questions
How many residential garage door permits were issued in San Francisco, CA recently?
33 residential garage door permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing).
Which San Francisco ZIP codes have the most garage door permits?
94116 (7 residential permits), 94122 (4 residential permits), 94123 (3 residential permits), by residential garage door permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 13 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential garage door permit in San Francisco?
$15,000, across 27 residential permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the San Francisco garage door permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free 10-permit sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, delivered every Monday. Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.
San Francisco garage door leads, every Monday
Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.