Residential roofing permits in San Francisco, CA
26 residential roofing permits issued by San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing), the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 26 residential roofing permits were issued in San Francisco, CA, according to public records from San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing). The busiest ZIP codes were 94118 (5 permits), 94114 (4 permits), 94110 (4 permits). The median declared value was $24,850 across 24 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.
What a roofing permit means in San Francisco
A residential roofing permit is a re-roof, repair or new roof the homeowner has already contracted. For a roofer the job itself is usually sold; the value is the street around it. Houses on the same block tend to be the same age and carry the same roof, and neighbors see the crew and the dumpster.
In San Francisco, permits were issued on 15 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 13, 2026, Oct 7, 2026, Oct 6, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 94118 (5), 94114 (4), 94110 (4).
By residential roofing permit count, San Francisco ranks #41 of the 69 roofing pages on this site and #8 of 14 in CA.
- Door-hang or mail the 20 to 40 houses around each permit within a week of the issue date.
- Track which ZIPs are turning over roofs fastest and where tile, metal or flat-roof work clusters.
- Pass the address to solar, gutter and insulation partners: a new roof is when homeowners add panels.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 26 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on San Francisco jobs.
- general remodel: 21 permits (81%)
- windows & doors: 9 permits (35%)
- kitchen/bath remodel: 4 permits (15%)
- electrical: 2 permits (8%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | 15 | 58% |
| otc alterations permit / 2 family dwelling | 6 | 23% |
| additions alterations or repairs / 1 family dwelling | 3 | 12% |
| (type not published) | 1 | 4% |
| otc alterations permit / apartments | 1 | 4% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 94118 | 5 | 19% | 0.62 |
| 94114 | 4 | 15% | 0.62 |
| 94110 | 4 | 15% | 0.75 |
| 94123 | 3 | 12% | 0.38 |
| 94121 | 2 | 8% | 0.25 |
8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.
Roof material stated in the permit
| Material | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| composition shingle | 7 | 27% |
| TPO / single-ply | 3 | 12% |
| tile (concrete/clay) | 1 | 4% |
| modified bitumen / torch-down | 1 | 4% |
| metal | 1 | 4% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Material | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-13 | 94110 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | roofing + electrical + windows/doors + remodel | not stated | $15,000 |
| 2026-10-01 | 94131 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | re-roof | TPO / single-ply; modified bitumen / torch-down | $15,000 |
| 2026-09-24 | 94110 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | re-roof | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-09-17 | 94133 | otc alterations permit / apartments | roofing + HVAC + kitchen/bath remodel | not stated | $70,000 |
| 2026-09-14 | 94123 | otc alterations permit / 2 family dwelling | roofing + windows/doors + kitchen/bath remodel | not stated | $475,000 |
| 2026-08-28 | 94114 | not published | roofing + remodel | not stated | n/a |
Source
- San Francisco (building): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset i98e-djp9), published by San Francisco (building). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- San Francisco (plumbing): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset a6aw-rudh), published by San Francisco (plumbing). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Roofing = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal roofing rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro: every trade × city page there.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: A new roof is the moment to sell solar, gutters and attic insulation. On Pro Signals, solar, gutter and insulation contractors can work the same addresses.
Other trades in San Francisco, CA
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
Questions
How many residential roofing permits were issued in San Francisco, CA recently?
26 residential roofing permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing).
Which San Francisco ZIP codes have the most roofing permits?
94118 (5 permits), 94114 (4 permits), 94110 (4 permits), by residential roofing permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 11 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential roofing permit in San Francisco?
$24,850, across 24 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the San Francisco roofing permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.
San Francisco roofing leads, every Monday
Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.