Residential generator permits in Charlotte, NC
104 residential generator permits were issued in Charlotte, NC in the 8 weeks to Oct 27, 2026. Get them every Monday as a Monday Jobs list by ZIP.
Source: Mecklenburg County (Accela). Oct 26, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 27, 2026, 104 residential generator permits were issued in Charlotte, NC, according to public records from Mecklenburg County (Accela). The busiest ZIP codes were 28226 (30 residential permits), 28207 (9 residential permits), 28211 (9 residential permits). The median declared value was $8,000 across 104 residential permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 26, 2026.
Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, you get 50% off next month. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, you get 50% off next month.
Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. If we cannot deliver your first file within 24 hours of purchase, you get 50% off next month.
What a generator permit means in Charlotte
A residential generator permit is a standby generator, its transfer switch or the gas line that feeds it. For a generator dealer it marks streets where homeowners are buying backup power now.
In Charlotte, permits were issued on 37 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 26, 2026, Oct 23, 2026, Oct 22, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 28226 (30), 28207 (9), 28211 (9).
- Mail the block around each install, especially after an outage.
- Offer annual service to new generator addresses.
- Pass gas-line and transfer-switch work to partner trades.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 104 residential permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Charlotte jobs.
- Electrical: 76 residential permits (73%)
- HVAC: 32 residential permits (31%)
- Gas line: 31 residential permits (30%)
- Garage: 1 residential permit (1%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 27, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical | 72 | 69% |
| Mechanical (HVAC) | 32 | 31% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28226 | 30 | 29% | N/A |
| 28207 | 9 | 9% | N/A |
| 28211 | 9 | 9% | N/A |
| 28209 | 9 | 9% | N/A |
| 28277 | 9 | 9% | N/A |
8-wk avg / week: average residential permits per week over the last 8 weeks for that ZIP and trade.
Work stated in the permit
| Work | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Standby generator | 70 | 67% |
| Gas line | 39 | 38% |
| Transfer switch | 27 | 26% |
| Portable inlet / interlock | 1 | 1% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Work | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-26 | 28211 | Mechanical (HVAC) | HVAC + generator | Not stated | $500 |
| 2026-10-20 | 28226 | Electrical | Electrical + generator | Standby generator | $10,000 |
| 2026-10-06 | 28270 | Mechanical (HVAC) | HVAC + generator + gas line | Gas line | $800 |
| 2026-09-28 | 28209 | Mechanical (HVAC) | HVAC + generator + gas line | Gas line | $1,000 |
| 2026-09-21 | 28226 | Mechanical (HVAC) | HVAC + electrical + generator | Not stated | $1,000 |
| 2026-09-15 | 28273 | Electrical | Electrical + generator | Standby generator; gas line | $32,980 |
Source
- Mecklenburg County (Accela): Permit records on meckgis.mecklenburgcountync.gov, published by Mecklenburg County (Accela). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 28, 2026 – Oct 22, 2026. Last pulled Oct 27, 2026. Partial source: residential (RES-) permit records from Mecklenburg County's Accela permit system; owner names and contact details are never collected.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Generators = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal generator rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. These are residential permits (RES- records) from Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement's Accela permit system, which issues building and trade permits for the City of Charlotte and the Mecklenburg towns. The place name is the permit's tax jurisdiction. The permits are county-issued, not issued by the city or town. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC metro.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Contractor activity: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: Generator installs bring electrical (transfer switch, service work) and gas line jobs; battery storage is the alternative buyers compare.
Other trades in Charlotte, NC
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
More trades in Charlotte, NC
Monday Jobs pages for other trades in Charlotte. They don't show a permit count yet; each says what we deliver there today.
Questions
How many residential generator permits were issued in Charlotte, NC recently?
104 residential generator permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 27, 2026. Source: Mecklenburg County (Accela).
Which Charlotte ZIP codes have the most generator permits?
28226 (30 residential permits), 28207 (9 residential permits), 28211 (9 residential permits), by residential generator permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 27, 2026. 18 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential generator permit in Charlotte?
$8,000, across 104 residential permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the Charlotte generator permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free 10-permit sample for your ZIPs first. Starter is $20/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Whole City is $140/mo for a whole metro and up to 5 trades, delivered every Monday. Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, you get 50% off next month. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, you get 50% off next month.
Get Charlotte generator Monday Jobs
Send your trade, your ZIP codes and your email. We'll reply with 10 real jobs from your streets, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.