Home / Garages / Silver Spring, MD
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential garage permits in Silver Spring, MD

10 residential garage permits issued by Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical), the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026. Oct 15, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026, 10 residential garage permits were issued in Silver Spring, MD, according to public records from Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical). The busiest ZIP codes were 20904 (4 permits), 20905 (2 permits), 20901 (1 permits). The median declared value was $92,500 across 6 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 15, 2026.

10
residential garage permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026
$92,500
median declared value (6 with value)
6
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 15, 2026
latest permit date published
1.2
permits per collected week on average
10
days with at least one permit issued

What a garage permit means in Silver Spring

A residential garage permit is a new garage, carport, conversion or door job. For a garage builder it shows where detached structures and conversions are going in.

In Silver Spring, permits were issued on 10 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 9, 2026, Sep 29, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 20904 (4), 20905 (2), 20901 (1).

By residential garage permit count, Silver Spring ranks #36 of the 38 garage pages on this site and #2 of 2 in MD.

  • Mail neighbors of each build.
  • Pitch conversions on streets with ADU activity.
  • Track declared values by ZIP.

See plans for Silver Spring garage leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 10 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Silver Spring jobs.

  • addition/ADU: 4 permits (40%)
  • electrical: 3 permits (30%)
  • general remodel: 2 permits (20%)
  • deck/patio: 1 permits (10%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 15, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 27Sep 3Sep 10Sep 17Sep 24Oct 1Oct 8Oct 15

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING330%
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING330%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING220%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / CONSTRUCT RESIDENTIAL ACCESSORY STRUCTURE110%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / CONSTRUCT GARAGE110%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
20904440%0.50
20905220%0.25
20901110%0.12
20910110%0.12
20902110%0.12

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

Type stated in the permit

TypePermitsShare
carport330%
conversion220%
new garage220%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeTypeDeclared value
2026-10-1520905ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGelectrical + garagenot statedn/a
2026-10-0920904BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGremodel + garageconversion$1,000
2026-09-2920904BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGremodel + garagenot stated$85,000
2026-09-2520904BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / CONSTRUCT GARAGEaddition/ADU + garagenew garagen/a
2026-09-2220906ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGelectrical + garagenew garagen/a
2026-09-1620902BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGaddition/ADU + garagecarport$160,000

Source

  • Montgomery County MD (electrical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset qxie-8qnp), published by Montgomery County MD (electrical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
  • Montgomery County MD (residential): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset m88u-pqki), published by Montgomery County MD (residential). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Garages = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal garage rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Garage conversions lead to ADU, electrical and plumbing work.

Questions

How many residential garage permits were issued in Silver Spring, MD recently?

10 residential garage permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026. Source: Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical).

Which Silver Spring ZIP codes have the most garage permits?

20904 (4 permits), 20905 (2 permits), 20901 (1 permits), by residential garage permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026. 6 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential garage permit in Silver Spring?

$92,500, across 6 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Silver Spring garage permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Silver Spring garage leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing