Residential ADU and addition permits in Silver Spring, MD
35 residential ADU and addition permits issued by Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (mechanical), the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 35 residential ADU and addition permits were issued in Silver Spring, MD, according to public records from Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (mechanical). The busiest ZIP codes were 20904 (8 permits), 20902 (7 permits), 20910 (7 permits). The median declared value was $48,900 across 29 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.
What an ADU and addition permit means in Silver Spring
A residential ADU or addition permit is a new unit or more square footage on an existing home. For an ADU builder or addition contractor it shows where lots are being built out, and the subs those jobs need.
In Silver Spring, permits were issued on 25 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 20904 (8), 20902 (7), 20910 (7).
By residential ADU and addition permit count, Silver Spring ranks #21 of the 46 ADU and addition pages on this site and #1 of 4 in MD.
- Mail the neighbors of each ADU.
- Pitch trades to the builders pulling the most permits.
- Track declared values by ZIP.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 35 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Silver Spring jobs.
- deck/patio: 8 permits (23%)
- electrical: 7 permits (20%)
- garage: 4 permits (11%)
- kitchen/bath remodel: 1 permits (3%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | 15 | 43% |
| BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | 11 | 31% |
| ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | 4 | 11% |
| BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / RESTORE AND / OR REPAIR SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | 1 | 3% |
| BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD RESIDENTIAL ACCESSORY STRUCTURE | 1 | 3% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20904 | 8 | 23% | 1.00 |
| 20902 | 7 | 20% | 0.88 |
| 20910 | 7 | 20% | 0.88 |
| 20901 | 5 | 14% | 0.62 |
| 20905 | 5 | 14% | 0.62 |
8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.
Type stated in the permit
| Type | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| room addition | 14 | 40% |
| ADU | 10 | 29% |
| second story | 1 | 3% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Type | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-15 | 20901 | BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | addition/ADU + deck/patio | not stated | $25,000 |
| 2026-10-06 | 20904 | BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | addition/ADU | ADU | $1,000 |
| 2026-09-24 | 20902 | ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | electrical + addition/ADU | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-09-17 | 20910 | BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | addition/ADU | room addition | $300,000 |
| 2026-09-14 | 20905 | BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | addition/ADU | ADU | $23,000 |
| 2026-09-02 | 20901 | BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ADD SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING | addition/ADU | room addition | $45,000 |
Source
- Montgomery County MD (electrical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset qxie-8qnp), published by Montgomery County MD (electrical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- Montgomery County MD (mechanical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset ih88-a6aa), published by Montgomery County MD (mechanical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- Montgomery County MD (residential): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset m88u-pqki), published by Montgomery County MD (residential). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). ADUs & Additions = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal ADU and addition rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro: every trade × city page there.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: ADUs and additions drive HVAC, electrical, plumbing, solar and landscaping work.
Other trades in Silver Spring, MD
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
Questions
How many residential ADU and addition permits were issued in Silver Spring, MD recently?
35 residential ADU and addition permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (mechanical).
Which Silver Spring ZIP codes have the most ADU and addition permits?
20904 (8 permits), 20902 (7 permits), 20910 (7 permits), by residential ADU and addition permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 7 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential ADU and addition permit in Silver Spring?
$48,900, across 29 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the Silver Spring ADU and addition permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.
Silver Spring ADU and addition leads, every Monday
Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.