Home / Solar / Portland, OR
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential solar permits in Portland, OR

150 residential solar permits issued by Portland OR, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 150 residential solar permits were issued in Portland, OR, according to public records from Portland OR. The busiest ZIP codes were 97206 (30 permits), 97202 (15 permits), 97266 (13 permits). The median declared value was $6,750 across 124 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.

150
residential solar permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026
$6,750
median declared value (124 with value)
23
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 16, 2026
latest permit date published
18.8
permits per collected week on average
32
days with at least one permit issued

What a solar permit means in Portland

A residential solar permit means a PV system (often with a battery) is going on that house. For a solar installer the signal is the neighborhood: once one panel array goes up, neighbors start asking, and installers that pull permits here are your direct competition.

In Portland, permits were issued on 32 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 97206 (30), 97202 (15), 97266 (13).

By residential solar permit count, Portland ranks #9 of the 75 solar pages on this site and #1 of 2 in OR.

  • Canvass and mail the same street while the install is visible.
  • See system sizes and battery attach rates in each ZIP to price your offer.
  • Pass the address to electricians and roofers: panel upgrades and re-roofs often come before or with solar.

See plans for Portland solar leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 150 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Portland jobs.

  • general remodel: 145 permits (97%)
  • electrical: 25 permits (17%)
  • battery storage: 11 permits (7%)
  • addition/ADU: 5 permits (3%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 28Sep 4Sep 11Sep 18Sep 25Oct 2Oct 9Oct 16

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Single Family Dwelling12080%
Electrical Permit / Residential 1 & 2 Family2315%
Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Accessory Dwelling Unit43%
Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Garage/Carport11%
Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Accessory Structure11%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
972063020%3.75
972021510%1.88
97266139%1.62
9723396%1.12
9721585%1.00

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

System stated in the permit

SystemPermitsShare
6.16 kW PV117%
battery117%
8.36 kW PV107%
8.8 kW PV75%
5.28 kW PV75%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeSystemDeclared value
2026-10-1597221Electrical Permit / Residential 1 & 2 Familysolar + electrical + remodelnot statedn/a
2026-10-0597221Electrical Permit / Residential 1 & 2 Familysolar + electrical + remodelnot statedn/a
2026-09-2997206Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Single Family Dwellingsolar + remodel3.52 kW PV$6,750
2026-09-2397202Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Single Family Dwellingsolar + remodel2.64 kW PV$6,750
2026-09-1597232Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Single Family Dwellingsolar + remodel5.376 kW PV$6,750
2026-09-0497206Residential 1 & 2 Family Permit / Accessory Structuresolar + remodel8.8 kW PV$6,750

Source

  • Portland OR: Permit records on www.portlandmaps.com, published by Portland OR. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Solar = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal solar rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Solar installs drive electrical (panel and battery) and roofing (penetration and warranty) work. Pro Signals carries all trades so you can partner with both.

Questions

How many residential solar permits were issued in Portland, OR recently?

150 residential solar permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: Portland OR.

Which Portland ZIP codes have the most solar permits?

97206 (30 permits), 97202 (15 permits), 97266 (13 permits), by residential solar permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 23 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential solar permit in Portland?

$6,750, across 124 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Portland solar permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Portland solar leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing