Home / Solar / Montgomery County, MD
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential solar permits in Montgomery County, MD

588 residential solar permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD in the 8 weeks to Oct 15, 2026. Get them weekly by ZIP from Curbside Signal.

Source: Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential). Oct 15, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026, 588 residential solar permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD, according to public records from Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential). The busiest ZIP codes were 20906 (43 residential permits), 20832 (36 residential permits), 20874 (32 residential permits). The median declared value was $25,650 across 288 residential permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 15, 2026.

588
Residential solar permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026
$25,650
Median declared value (288 with value)
35
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 15, 2026
Latest permit date published
73.5
Permits per collected week on average
43
Days with at least one permit issued

Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. If we can't deliver your first file within 24 hours of purchase, we refund you in full.

What a solar permit means in Montgomery County

A residential solar permit means a PV system (often with a battery) is going on that house. For a solar installer the signal is the neighborhood: once one panel array goes up, neighbors start asking, and installers that pull permits here are your direct competition.

In Montgomery County, permits were issued on 43 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 20906 (43), 20832 (36), 20874 (32).

By residential solar permit count, Montgomery County ranks #3 of the 78 solar pages on this site and #1 of 19 in MD.

  • Canvass and mail the same street while the install is visible.
  • See system sizes and battery attach rates in each ZIP to price your offer.
  • Pass the address to electricians and roofers: panel upgrades and re-roofs often come before or with solar.

See plans for Montgomery County solar leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 588 residential permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Montgomery County jobs.

  • Electrical: 324 residential permits (55%)
  • General remodel: 287 residential permits (49%)
  • Battery storage: 45 residential permits (8%)
  • EV charger: 2 residential permits (0%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 15, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 27Sep 3Sep 10Sep 17Sep 24Oct 1Oct 8Oct 15

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING28849%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING27947%
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL TOWNHOUSE122%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER TOWNHOUSE92%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
20906437%5.38
20832366%4.50
20874325%4.00
20837315%3.88
20902295%3.62

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

System stated in the permit

SystemPermitsShare
Battery458%
11.44 kW PV102%
11.88 kW PV92%
6.16 kW PV81%
12.76 kW PV81%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeSystemDeclared value
2026-10-1520833BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + remodel16.34 kW PV$40,000
2026-10-0720817BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + remodel18.48 kW PV$50,000
2026-09-3020814BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + remodel7.38 kW PV$26,420
2026-09-2120901ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + electricalNot statedN/A
2026-09-1120905ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + electricalNot statedN/A
2026-09-0120815BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + remodel14.08 kW PV$35,000

Source

  • Montgomery County MD (electrical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset qxie-8qnp), published by Montgomery County MD (electrical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
  • Montgomery County MD (residential): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset m88u-pqki), published by Montgomery County MD (residential). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Solar = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal solar rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Solar installs drive electrical (panel and battery) and roofing (penetration and warranty) work. Pro Signals carries all trades so you can partner with both.

Questions

How many residential solar permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD recently?

588 residential solar permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026. Source: Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential).

Which Montgomery County ZIP codes have the most solar permits?

20906 (43 residential permits), 20832 (36 residential permits), 20874 (32 residential permits), by residential solar permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 15, 2026. 35 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential solar permit in Montgomery County?

$25,650, across 288 residential permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Montgomery County solar permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free 10-permit sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, delivered every Monday. Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

Montgomery County solar leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free 10-permit sampleEmail hello@curbsidesignal.comSee pricing