Home / Fencing / Nashville, TN
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential fence permits in Nashville, TN

90 residential fence permits issued by Nashville-Davidson, Nashville-Davidson (trade permits), the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 90 residential fence permits were issued in Nashville, TN, according to public records from Nashville-Davidson, Nashville-Davidson (trade permits). The busiest ZIP codes were 37205 (29 permits), 37215 (12 permits), 37209 (8 permits). The median declared value was $42,000 across 87 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.

90
residential fence permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026
$42,000
median declared value (87 with value)
18
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 16, 2026
latest permit date published
11.2
permits per collected week on average
35
days with at least one permit issued
72
distinct contractors of record (90 permits name one)

What a fence permit means in Nashville

A residential fence permit is a new or replacement fence or gate. For a fence contractor it marks neighbors who share that property line and streets where fences are going up.

In Nashville, permits were issued on 35 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 37205 (29), 37215 (12), 37209 (8).

By residential fence permit count, Nashville ranks #8 of the 27 fence pages on this site and #1 of 2 in TN.

  • Mail the neighbors on each side of the job.
  • Pitch pool barriers to new pool addresses.
  • Track which ZIPs permit the most fences.

See plans for Nashville fence leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 90 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Nashville jobs.

  • pool & spa: 80 permits (89%)
  • new construction: 62 permits (69%)
  • electrical: 33 permits (37%)
  • HVAC: 10 permits (11%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 28Sep 4Sep 11Sep 18Sep 25Oct 2Oct 9Oct 16

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
Building Residential - New / Accessory Structure, Pools - Residential4449%
Electrical / Full Electrical Permit2528%
Gas/Mechanical / Gas / Mech Permit910%
Electrical / ELECT SERVICE RELEASE56%
Building Residential - Rehab / Single Family Residence11%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
372052932%4.25
372151213%1.75
3720989%1.00
3720478%1.00
3720878%0.88

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

Type stated in the permit

TypePermitsShare
wood33%
chain link11%
vinyl11%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeTypeDeclared value
2026-10-1537205Electrical / Full Electrical Permitelectrical + pool/spa + new construction + fencenot stated$5,000
2026-10-0937076Building Residential - New / Accessory Structure, Pools - Residentialpool/spa + new construction + fencenot stated$128,500
2026-10-0137221Building Residential - New / Accessory Structure, Pools - Residentialpool/spa + new construction + fencenot stated$42,000
2026-09-2237205Building Residential - New / Accessory Structure, Pools - Residentialpool/spa + new construction + fencenot stated$100,000
2026-09-0837204Electrical / Full Electrical Permitelectrical + fence + foundation + gas linenot stated$4,900
2026-08-3137220Electrical / Full Electrical Permitelectrical + pool/spa + new construction + fencevinyl$3,500

Source

  • Nashville-Davidson: Permit records on services2.arcgis.com, published by Nashville-Davidson. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
  • Nashville-Davidson (trade permits): Permit records on services2.arcgis.com, published by Nashville-Davidson (trade permits). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Fencing = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal fence rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin, TN metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Pools and new builds lead to fencing; fences lead to gates and landscaping.

Questions

How many residential fence permits were issued in Nashville, TN recently?

90 residential fence permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: Nashville-Davidson, Nashville-Davidson (trade permits).

Which Nashville ZIP codes have the most fence permits?

37205 (29 permits), 37215 (12 permits), 37209 (8 permits), by residential fence permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 18 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential fence permit in Nashville?

$42,000, across 87 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Nashville fence permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Nashville fence leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing