Home / EV Chargers / Boston, MA
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential EV charger permits in Boston, MA

22 residential EV charger permits issued by Boston, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Oct 17, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026, 22 residential EV charger permits were issued in Boston, MA, according to public records from Boston. The busiest ZIP codes were 02130 (5 permits), 02132 (5 permits), 02136 (2 permits). The median declared value was $3,000 across 22 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 17, 2026.

22
residential EV charger permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026
$3,000
median declared value (22 with value)
10
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 17, 2026
latest permit date published
2.8
permits per collected week on average
18
days with at least one permit issued
18
distinct contractors of record (21 permits name one)

What an EV charger permit means in Boston

A residential EV charger permit means a home is adding a Level 2 charger, often with a new circuit or panel upgrade. For an electrician or charger installer it shows which streets are going electric.

In Boston, permits were issued on 18 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 16, 2026, Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 02130 (5), 02132 (5), 02136 (2).

By residential EV charger permit count, Boston ranks #15 of the 27 EV charger pages on this site.

  • Mail neighbors of each charger install while the EV is in the driveway.
  • Offer panel and service upgrades on the streets with the most chargers.
  • Pass the address to solar installers: EV owners are strong solar prospects.

See plans for Boston EV charger leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 22 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Boston jobs.

  • electrical: 14 permits (64%)
  • solar: 7 permits (32%)
  • new construction: 4 permits (18%)
  • fire sprinkler: 4 permits (18%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 17, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 29Sep 5Sep 12Sep 19Sep 26Oct 3Oct 10Oct 17

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
ELECTRICAL / 1-2FAM1255%
ERECT / 1-3FAM418%
ERECT / 1-2FAM314%
LVOLT / 1-2FAM15%
ELECTRICAL / 1-4FAM15%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
02130523%0.62
02132523%0.62
0213629%0.25
0211629%0.25
0212629%0.25

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

Work stated in the permit

WorkPermitsShare
Level 2 charger1359%
new circuit523%
panel / service upgrade418%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeWorkDeclared value
2026-10-1602134ELECTRICAL / 1-2FAMelectrical + EV charger + remodelLevel 2 charger; panel / service upgrade; new circuit$32,500
2026-10-0902132ELECTRICAL / 1-2FAMelectrical + EV chargerLevel 2 charger; panel / service upgrade$1,499
2026-10-0702119ELECTRICAL / 1-2FAMelectrical + EV chargerLevel 2 charger; new circuit$3,000
2026-09-1802130ELECTRICAL / 1-2FAMelectrical + EV chargerLevel 2 charger$500
2026-09-1402130ERECT / 1-3FAMsolar + EV charger + fire sprinkler + garagenot stated$1,378,000
2026-09-0602116ELECTRICAL / 1-4FAMelectrical + EV chargernot stated$3,000

Source

  • Boston: Permit records on data.boston.gov (dataset 6ddcd912-32a0-43df-9908-63574f8c7e77), published by Boston. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 23, 2026 – Oct 17, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). EV Chargers = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal EV charger rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: EV chargers lead to panel and service upgrades, and often to solar and battery storage.

Questions

How many residential EV charger permits were issued in Boston, MA recently?

22 residential EV charger permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Source: Boston.

Which Boston ZIP codes have the most EV charger permits?

02130 (5 permits), 02132 (5 permits), 02136 (2 permits), by residential EV charger permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. 10 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential EV charger permit in Boston?

$3,000, across 22 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Boston EV charger permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Boston EV charger leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing