Residential electrical permits in San Diego, CA
2,021 residential electrical permits issued by San Diego (city), San Diego County unincorporated, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Oct 17, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026, 2,021 residential electrical permits were issued in San Diego, CA, according to public records from San Diego (city), San Diego County unincorporated. The busiest ZIP codes were 92130 (129 permits), 92129 (122 permits), 92128 (109 permits). The median declared value was $123,838 across 52 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 17, 2026.
What an electrical permit means in San Diego
A residential electrical permit covers panel and service upgrades, EV chargers, solar and battery tie-ins, rewires and new circuits. For an electrician it shows where homes are adding load, which usually means more panel and charger work on the same street.
In San Diego, permits were issued on 52 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 92130 (129), 92129 (122), 92128 (109).
By residential electrical permit count, San Diego ranks #3 of the 107 electrical pages on this site and #2 of 32 in CA.
- Mail EV-charger and panel-upgrade offers around each permit.
- Partner with the solar and HVAC installers who pull permits in your ZIPs: their jobs often need your work.
- Watch service-upgrade volume by ZIP to plan crews and stock.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 2,021 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on San Diego jobs.
- plumbing: 1,951 permits (97%)
- HVAC: 1,880 permits (93%)
- addition/ADU: 63 permits (3%)
- general remodel: 63 permits (3%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 17, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | 1,856 | 92% |
| Combination Building Permit / Add/Alt 1 or 2 Fam, No Chg DU | 30 | 1% |
| Combination Building Permit / Add/Alt Companion Unit/Acc Apt | 18 | 1% |
| Mechanical Pmt / Add/Alt Companion Unit/Acc Apt | 9 | 0% |
| Electrical Pmt / Add/Alt Companion Unit/Acc Apt | 9 | 0% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 92130 | 129 | 6% | 16.75 |
| 92129 | 122 | 6% | 16.38 |
| 92128 | 109 | 5% | 14.50 |
| 92037 | 109 | 5% | 15.88 |
| 92126 | 106 | 5% | 14.75 |
8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count. 37 permits on this page have no ZIP in the source.
Work stated in the permit
| Work | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| panel / service upgrade | 23 | 1% |
| heat pump / HVAC circuit | 6 | 0% |
| new circuits / outlets | 6 | 0% |
| solar / battery tie-in | 5 | 0% |
| panel / service upgrade (100 A) | 5 | 0% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Work | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-15 | 92106 | No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | HVAC + plumbing + electrical | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-10-07 | 92014 | No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | HVAC + plumbing + electrical | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-09-29 | 92128 | No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | HVAC + plumbing + electrical | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-09-18 | 92131 | No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | HVAC + plumbing + electrical | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-09-10 | 92105 | No-Plan - Residential - Combination Mech/Elec/Plum | HVAC + plumbing + electrical | not stated | n/a |
| 2026-08-31 | 92104 | Electrical Pmt / Add/Alt Companion Unit/Acc Apt | plumbing + electrical + remodel + garage | not stated | n/a |
Source
- San Diego (city): Development Permits Set 2 (data.sandiego.gov), published by City of San Diego. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- San Diego County unincorporated: Permit records on internal-sandiegocounty.data.socrata.com (dataset red2-qccu), published by San Diego County unincorporated. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 23, 2026 – Oct 17, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Electrical = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal electrical rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA metro: every trade × city page there.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: Remodels and solar installs are the two biggest drivers of residential electrical work. Pro Signals covers both.
Other trades in San Diego, CA
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
Questions
How many residential electrical permits were issued in San Diego, CA recently?
2,021 residential electrical permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Source: San Diego (city), San Diego County unincorporated.
Which San Diego ZIP codes have the most electrical permits?
92130 (129 permits), 92129 (122 permits), 92128 (109 permits), by residential electrical permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. 34 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential electrical permit in San Diego?
$123,838, across 52 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the San Diego electrical permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.
San Diego electrical leads, every Monday
Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.