Home / Electrical / Montgomery County, MD
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential electrical permits in Montgomery County, MD

1,707 residential electrical permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD in the 8 weeks to Oct 16, 2026. Get them weekly by ZIP from Curbside Signal.

Source: Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (mechanical). Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 1,707 residential electrical permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD, according to public records from Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (mechanical). The busiest ZIP codes were 20854 (138 residential permits), 20817 (110 residential permits), 20895 (81 residential permits). The median declared value was $34,002 across 48 residential permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.

1,707
Residential electrical permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026
$34,002
Median declared value (48 with value)
41
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 16, 2026
Latest permit date published
213.4
Permits per collected week on average
55
Days with at least one permit issued

Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. If we can't deliver your first file within 24 hours of purchase, we refund you in full.

What an electrical permit means in Montgomery County

A residential electrical permit covers panel and service upgrades, EV chargers, solar and battery tie-ins, rewires and new circuits. For an electrician it shows where homes are adding load, which usually means more panel and charger work on the same street.

In Montgomery County, permits were issued on 55 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 15, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 20854 (138), 20817 (110), 20895 (81).

By residential electrical permit count, Montgomery County ranks #6 of the 113 electrical pages on this site and #1 of 21 in MD.

  • Mail EV-charger and panel-upgrade offers around each permit.
  • Partner with the solar and HVAC installers who pull permits in your ZIPs: their jobs often need your work.
  • Watch service-upgrade volume by ZIP to plan crews and stock.

See plans for Montgomery County electrical leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 1,707 residential permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Montgomery County jobs.

  • Solar: 317 residential permits (19%)
  • EV charger: 141 residential permits (8%)
  • HVAC: 108 residential permits (6%)
  • General remodel: 75 residential permits (4%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 28Sep 4Sep 11Sep 18Sep 25Oct 2Oct 9Oct 16

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING1,48187%
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL TOWNHOUSE1418%
BUILDING RESIDENTIAL PERMIT / ALTER SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING352%
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL RESIDENTIAL ACCESSORY STRUCTURE181%
ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SENIOR SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING91%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
208541388%17.75
208171106%14.25
20895815%10.12
20910785%10.00
20902714%8.88

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count. 9 permits on this page have no ZIP in the source.

Work stated in the permit

WorkPermitsShare
Panel / service upgrade47828%
New circuits / outlets30918%
Solar / battery tie-in28317%
(200 A)1629%
EV charger1408%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeWorkDeclared value
2026-10-1520886ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGElectricalPanel / service upgrade (200 A)N/A
2026-10-0720872ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGElectricalNot statedN/A
2026-09-2920903ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGSolar + electricalPanel / service upgrade; solar / battery tie-inN/A
2026-09-2120815ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGElectrical + EV chargerEV chargerN/A
2026-09-1020850ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL TOWNHOUSEElectrical(200 A)N/A
2026-09-0120854ELECTRICAL PERMIT / INSTALL SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGElectrical + pool/spaNot statedN/A

Source

  • Montgomery County MD (electrical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset qxie-8qnp), published by Montgomery County MD (electrical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
  • Montgomery County MD (mechanical): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset ih88-a6aa), published by Montgomery County MD (mechanical). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
  • Montgomery County MD (residential): Permit records on data.montgomerycountymd.gov (dataset m88u-pqki), published by Montgomery County MD (residential). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 21, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Electrical = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal electrical rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Remodels and solar installs are the two biggest drivers of residential electrical work. Pro Signals covers both.

Questions

How many residential electrical permits were issued in Montgomery County, MD recently?

1,707 residential electrical permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: Montgomery County MD (electrical), Montgomery County MD (residential), Montgomery County MD (mechanical).

Which Montgomery County ZIP codes have the most electrical permits?

20854 (138 residential permits), 20817 (110 residential permits), 20895 (81 residential permits), by residential electrical permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 41 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential electrical permit in Montgomery County?

$34,002, across 48 residential permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Montgomery County electrical permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free 10-permit sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, delivered every Monday. Every package includes your first file within 24 hours of purchase. Guarantee on every package: If a month comes in under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trades, the next month is free. If a weekly file is ever late or missing, that month is free.

Montgomery County electrical leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free 10-permit sampleEmail hello@curbsidesignal.comSee pricing