Home / Electrical / Detroit, MI
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential electrical permits in Detroit, MI

35 residential electrical permits issued by Detroit (trades), the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Oct 17, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026, 35 residential electrical permits were issued in Detroit, MI, according to public records from Detroit (trades). The busiest ZIP codes were 48214 (6 permits), 48228 (5 permits), 48207 (4 permits). The latest permit date published is Oct 17, 2026.

35
residential electrical permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026
n/a
median declared value
16
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 17, 2026
latest permit date published
4.4
permits per collected week on average
20
days with at least one permit issued
16
distinct contractors of record (28 permits name one)

What an electrical permit means in Detroit

A residential electrical permit covers panel and service upgrades, EV chargers, solar and battery tie-ins, rewires and new circuits. For an electrician it shows where homes are adding load, which usually means more panel and charger work on the same street.

In Detroit, permits were issued on 20 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 16, 2026, Oct 15, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 48214 (6), 48228 (5), 48207 (4).

By residential electrical permit count, Detroit ranks #63 of the 91 electrical pages on this site.

  • Mail EV-charger and panel-upgrade offers around each permit.
  • Partner with the solar and HVAC installers who pull permits in your ZIPs: their jobs often need your work.
  • Watch service-upgrade volume by ZIP to plan crews and stock.

See plans for Detroit electrical leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 35 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Detroit jobs.

  • new construction: 7 permits (20%)
  • generator: 5 permits (14%)
  • HVAC: 2 permits (6%)
  • sewer/septic: 1 permits (3%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 17, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 29Sep 5Sep 12Sep 19Sep 26Oct 3Oct 10Oct 17

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
Electrical Permit3497%
Plumbing Permit13%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
48214617%5.25
48228514%4.25
48207411%3.00
4822739%3.50
4822339%2.75

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.

Work stated in the permit

WorkPermitsShare
panel / service upgrade514%
rewire514%
new circuits / outlets39%
panel / service upgrade (100 A)26%
new circuits / outlets (200 A)13%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeWorkDeclared value
2026-10-1648207Electrical Permitelectrical + new constructionpanel / service upgraden/a
2026-10-0748203Electrical Permitelectricalpanel / service upgrade (100 A)n/a
2026-09-2948228Electrical Permitelectricalnot statedn/a
2026-09-2848235Electrical Permitelectrical + new constructionnot statedn/a
2026-09-2148228Electrical Permitelectricalnot statedn/a
2026-09-1148219Electrical Permitelectrical + generatornot statedn/a

Source

  • Detroit (trades): Permit records on services2.arcgis.com, published by Detroit (trades). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 23, 2026 – Oct 17, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Electrical = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal electrical rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Remodels and solar installs are the two biggest drivers of residential electrical work. Pro Signals covers both.

Questions

How many residential electrical permits were issued in Detroit, MI recently?

35 residential electrical permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. Source: Detroit (trades).

Which Detroit ZIP codes have the most electrical permits?

48214 (6 permits), 48228 (5 permits), 48207 (4 permits), by residential electrical permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 17, 2026. 16 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential electrical permit in Detroit?

The source does not publish valuations for these permits.

How do I get the Detroit electrical permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Detroit electrical leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing